Classic sailing in the West Country makes history

The first ever Pantaenius sponsored West Country Classics Series, for classic and heritage sailing boats took place in 2021. Results for two or more of three Classic sailing events which included Dartmouth, Falmouth and Fowey Classics were combined to identify four winners. The prizegiving was hosted by Saltash Sailing Club during Storm Alwen. Skippers and crews from the ten boats that completed two or more of the events, gathered with partners and supporter to witness the presentations. All boats received a flag as a memento of participating in the first West Country Classic Series. Eight of the ten boats were either gaff or lug rigged. The oldest being the Looe Lugger Our Boys which was launched in 1904.

Sue Treneer, who has been involved in running Falmouth Classics in a variety of capacities for 35 years presented the prizes. In fourth place with 169 points was the Swan 55 “Lulotte” – Ben Morris, third the Heard 28 Capraia with 177 points – Patrick Vyvyan Robinson, in second place scoring 190 points was Mary Ritchie a 27’ gaff cutter built by John Fuge and launched  in 1992   – Don and Pauline Garman and in first  place the beautiful gaffer Cynthia built in 1910 by Thomas Jacket of Falmouth with 191 points – Peter Lucas.

The idea for the series came from Bruce Thorogood the organiser of the biannual Channel Classics. Bruce said “The purpose of West Country Classics Series (WCCS) is to increase the number of vessels in all three events and to attract participants from other parts of the UK and France. The WCCS been an idea for a while but its introduction was delayed by Covid, so the organisers and myself are delighted that 2021 has seen the birth of the series, which culminated in a splendid prize giving event. We are very grateful to Pantaenius for sponsoring the series and to Salcombe gin for contributing to the prizes. My colleagues and I look forward to increased numbers in 2022”.  

The next West Country classics Series will begin in 2022 at the Falmouth Classics from 17- 19  June.