Verstappen sends Christian Horner message to Red Bull as Marko stings Mercedes

After three days of testing at the Bahrain International Circuit, Carlos Sainz and Charles Leclerc topped the pile.

Tyre compounds must be taken into account, however, and the Ferrari duo both used the C4, whereas Red Bull were the fastest team on the comparatively slower C3.

The top 10 was settled as follows…

1. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) (C4) 1:29.921

2. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) (C4) 1:30.322

3. George Russell (Mercedes) (C4) 1:30.368

4. Zhou Guanyu (Sauber) (C4) 1:30.647

5. Sergio Perez (Red Bull) (C3) 1:30.679

6. Max Verstappen (Red Bull) (C3) 1:30.755

7. Yuki Tsunoda (RB) (C4) 1:30.775

8. Alex Albon (Williams) (C4) 1:30.984

9. Oscar Piastri (McLaren) (C3) 1:31.030

10. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) (C3) 1:31.066